Quick Exit
Sheffield Children Safeguarding Partnership logoConcerned about a child button

Sheffield Children Safeguarding Partnership

SPRING 24 UPDATES: We are updating our website. Please use the search bar if you can’t find the information you need or contact SCSP to make recommendations for updates.

Safeguarding in Education - The Transition Toolkit

SCSP logo                    E&S logo

Following consultation with DSL/Ds and Headteachers the Education sub-group of the Sheffield Children Safeguarding Partnership (SCSP) has developed a toolkit for DSL/Ds to use to transfer information and responsibility for learners in Sheffield when they move between settings.  This is based on and develops existing good practice from across the city and education phases.

Aims:

  • To improve the transfer of information and responsibility of safeguarding and related information between settings at the point of transition.
  • To promote the use of shared systems, language & understanding around the identification and classification of safeguarding concerns and specific indicators of a child or young person’s vulnerability.
  • To bring together and share existing good practice from across the sector and city.

We recommend that you start by reading the Guidance document for the transition toolkit: The transition toolkit - Guidance

This guidance document will take you through the purpose and use of the rest of the toolkit documents.  The rest of the transition toolkit is made up of:
The transition toolkit - The spreadsheet
The transition toolkit -  DSL conversations template
The transition toolkit - Information sharing template
The transition toolkit - Early Years transition form and guidance
The transition toolkit - Parent / Carer / family leaflet

Once you have viewed the toolkit documents and considered how they might be used by your setting please complete this feedback form to let us know your thoughts and plans:
Transition toolkit feedback form

Once education settings across the city have signed up to use the transition toolkit a list will be published here of who is using it - so that all settings can easily know who is using it.  So far we have a pledge from the following settings to trial the use of the toolkit:

  • Chorus Education Trust
  • Tapton Schools Academy Trust
  • Pipworth Primary School
  • Phillimore Primary School
  • Sheffield Park Academy
  • Longley Park Sixth Form
  • Sheffield College

If you need further support, have any questions about using the toolkit or want to discuss how we can support rolling out use of the toolkit in your setting, family of schools, locality or other grouping you can contact the Safeguarding Children Advisor for your setting or one of the DSLs who developed the toolkit:

Emily.Pickles@sheffield.gov.uk : 07554 582 917
Nicholas.Godfrey@sheffield.gov.uk : 07799 656 343
Jane.Walker@sheffield.gov.uk : 07815 966 791
Bliss.Holland@sheffield.gov.uk : 0791 837 8014

These people are listed by the school phase they represent, with those across school phases listed first:

Katie Anderson : kanderson@chorustrust.org
Lynn Wood : lwood@taptontrust.org.uk
Gary Smith : gsmith@nexusmat.org
Maria Jackson-Brown : mariajackson-brown@pipworth-cps.sheffield.sch.uk
Rebecca Sutton : r.sutton@phillimore.sheffield.sch.uk
Kelly Mills :kelly.mills@sheffieldparkacademy.org
James Smythe : james.smythe@sheffcol.ac.uk
Yasmin Celik : ycelik@brigantiatrust.net

Comments

Have your say...

Comments are closed for this article